Environmental Technologies Trade Advisory Committee (ETTAC) July 24, 2018; 9:00 am – 2:00 pm U.S. Department of Commerce

The Environmental Technologies Trade Advisory Committee (ETTAC) convened an in-person meeting at 9:00 a.m. EST on July 24, 2018 at the U.S. Department of Commerce, Washington, DC.

ETTAC MEMBERS PRESENT:

Mr.	Philip Benson	Mr.	Jeff Grove	Mr.	Gabriel Restrepo
Dr.	Rasto Brezny	Ms.	Ebie Holst	Mr.	Ron Swinko
Mr.	Michael Corvese	Ms.	Tasha Jamaluddin	Mr.	Peter Tunnicliffe
Mr.	William Decker	Ms.	Vanessa Leiby	Mr.	Kurt Tyler
Ms.	Anne Ellis	Ms.	Michelle Leonard	Mr.	George Vorsheim
Dr.	Ryan Godfrey	Ms.	Ramola Musante	Ms.	Debra Waggoner
Mr.	Larry Gottlieb	Mr.	Joseph Pickard		

Department of Commerce, International Trade Administration (ITA) Officials Present:

Anne Driscoll, Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary for Industry & Analysis

André Mendes, Chief Information Officer

Pat Kirwan, Director, Trade Promotion Coordinating Committee Secrtariat

Ryan Russell, Environmental Technologies Global Team Leader

Laura Krishnan, International Trade Specialist, Brazil Desk

Amy Kreps, Designated Federal Officer, ETTAC

Tracy Gerstle, Environmental Technologies Trade Specialist, Office of Energy and Environmental Industries

Other U.S. Government Officials Present:

Jane Nishida, Principal Deputy Assistant Administrator for International & Tribal Affairs, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Chad McIntosh, Special Counsel to the Administrator, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Jon Harrison, Senior Advisor, Bureau of Oceans and Environmental and Scientific Affairs, U.S. Department of State

Rachel Kastenberg, U.S. Department of State

Glenn Harrington, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Joe Ferrante, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Rick Ziegler, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

MEETING MINUTES:

Welcome & Committee Business

DFO Kreps and Chairman Swinko briefly welcomed the Committee and provided an overview of the meeting agenda and expectations regarding the discussion with ETWG officials. The Committee approved the May 15 Meeting Minutes and a recommendation letter on Tied Aid drafted by the Professional Service and Infrastructure Advancement Subcommittee.

ETTAC-ETWG Joint Discussion on Implementation of ETTAC Recommendations

The co-chairs of the TPCC Environmental Trade Working Group (ETWG) PDAS Driscoll and PDAA Nishida provided opening remarks, then introduced new political appointees Chad McIntosh (U.S. EPA)

and Jon Harrison (State). The co-chairs then introduced ETWG speakers to address each of the ETTAC's 20 recommendations or responded directly themselves, depending on the recommendation. Committee members and speakers engaged in lively discussion and Q&A moderated by ETTAC Chairman Swinko.

ETTAC Membership Survey Discussion & Re-Chartering Process

The Committee reviewed the results of the ETTAC Membership Survey and suggested improvements to the membership experience and Committee administration for future charters. DFO Kreps also reviewed the ETTAC re-chartering process and next steps regarding the nomination process for the 2018-2020 charter.

Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 2:00 p.m.

I hereby certify that, to the best of my knowledge, the foregoing minutes are accurate and complete.

Amy Kreps Designated Federal Officer Environmental Technologies Trade Advisory Committee

Ron Swinko Chair

Environmental Technologies Trade Advisory Committee

These minutes will be formally considered by the Committee and any corrections or notations will be incorporated.