This information is derived from the State Department's Office of Investment Affairs' Investment Climate Statement. Any questions on the ICS can be directed to
Last Published: 7/31/2017
The U.S.-Colombia CTPA entered into force on May 15, 2012 and improves legal security and the investment environment while eliminating tariffs and other barriers to trade in goods and services.  The agreement grants investors the right to establish, acquire, and operate investments on an equal footing with local investors as well as investors of other countries with bilateral investment treaties or investment chapters in free trade agreements with Colombia.  It also provides U.S. investors in Colombia protections that foreign investors have under the U.S. legal system, including due process and the right to receive fair market value for property in the event of an expropriation.

Colombia has thirteen free trade agreements or agreements of economic cooperation that include investment chapters with: United States, , European Union, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Cuba, Mexico, South Korea, CAN (Andean Community of Nations – Peru, Ecuador, Bolivia), the Pacific Alliance (Colombia, Chile, Mexico and Peru), EFTA (European Free Trade Area –Switzerland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Iceland), Mercosur (Brazil, Uruguay, Paraguay, and Argentina), and Central America’s Northern Triangle (El Salvador, Honduras, and Guatemala).  Colombia has subscribed trade agreements with Panama and Israel but they have not yet been ratified.  There are ongoing FTA negotiations with Japan and Turkey.  Another five agreements are being explored with Australia, China, the Dominican Republic, India, and Singapore.  Additionally, Colombia has stand-alone bilateral investment treaties in force with China, India, Peru, Spain, Switzerland, the United Kingdom, and Japan.

Colombia has double taxation treaties with Spain, Chile, Switzerland, Canada, India, Portugal, Mexico, South Korea, France and the Czech Republic.  Talks have concluded successfully with Belgium.  Colombia is currently negotiating double taxation agreements with Germany, the Netherlands, Japan, Panama, and the United States.

Prepared by our U.S. Embassies abroad. With its network of 108 offices across the United States and in more than 75 countries, the U.S. Commercial Service of the U.S. Department of Commerce utilizes its global presence and international marketing expertise to help U.S. companies sell their products and services worldwide. Locate the U.S. Commercial Service trade specialist in the U.S. nearest you by visiting

Colombia Economic Development and Investment Market Access International Agreements