Local Time: Print

American Rail Working Group


As a follow up for the Transportation Forum between the U.S. Department of Transportation and the Chinese Ministry of Transport in November 2008, the U.S. Embassy Commercial Section launched an American Rail Working Group (ARWG) in January 2009 to strengthen the cooperation among the American companies and with the former Chinese Ministry of Railway (MOR), U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT), Federal Rail Administration (FRA), U.S. Trade and Development Agency (TDA), U.S. State Department and the U.S. Ex-Im Bank.

ARWG members meet monthly to explore ideas and share market information on the Chinese railway industry to their mutual benefit. Representatives of relevant U.S. government agencies join the meetings in person and by phone from Washington, D.C. Beginning with only a few companies at the founding, the group now has 28 members.

The ARWG is currently operating under leadership of Commercial Officer Yasue Pai, GE Transportation China’s Sales General Manager Xie Yang and Commercial Specialist Peng Aiqun to leverage the Embassy and the U.S. government to open up China’s rail industry market to a wide range of American companies.


With the expansion and rapid development of the ARWG have come increased organizational and other demands for FCS to fulfill on behalf of the group. To cover our costs for these activities and services, and to allow us to fully participate in the activities of the group, the U.S. Embassy Commercial Section proposes to provide a Platinum Key Service program for each ARWG member.

Our Platinum Key Service will provide a one-year period of sustained support for ARWG members’ activities in the China market. This market development support will be specifically tailored to ARWG’s needs and can change upon agreement of the membership.

Through the Platinum Key Service Program, ARWG member companies benefit from monthly meetings among members to explore ideas and share market information on the Chinese railway industry; participation in the ARWG road shows in China’s large second tier cities to explore both rail and metro market opportunities; and numerous meetings and seminars with influential officials from the China Railway Corporation, and China’s metro industry.

Members List (in alphabetically order)

1. Alcoa

2. Amsted Rail China

3. APC

4. Caterpillar

5. Clark Filter

6. Cummins

7. Electro‐Motive Diesel, Inc.

8. Fairfield Manufacturing Inc.

9. FreightCar America, Inc.

10. GATX Corporation

11. GE Transportation China

12. Harsco Rail

13. Kennametal Inc.

14. L.B. Foster

15. Loram

16. LORD

17. Motorola Solutions

18. Oracle Corporation

19. Railtech and Plandrol

20. Railway Retail Management Co.

21. Rogers Corporation

22. RTKL International

23. Strato. Inc.

24. The Timken Company

25. Transportation Technology Center, Inc.

26. Trimble Navigation Ltd

27. Union Pacific Railroad

28. WabTec

Member Responsibilities


Ms. Peng Aiqun; Tel: 8610-8531 3947; Email: aiqun.peng@trade.gov